Луганський національний університет імені Тараса Шевченка

LNU Postgraduate Student Will Participate in Math Forum in Germany

LNU postgraduate student Olena Toichkina has been chosen for the participation in the Math forum of laureates of several awards.

Forum – 2015 will be held from August 23 to August 28. Its goal is to make contacts between the talented young researches (postgraduates and students) and the world’s best scientists in the field of mathematics and informatics – the laureates of Abel Prize, Fields Medal, Turing Award and Rolf Nevanlinna Prize. Besides the forum is aimed to provide wide publicity and to popularize modern mathematics and informatics among the youth.

200 students and postgraduates from all over the world are invited to take part. They are chosen by the special committee. During the forum the laureates will read many lectures. Also there will be the public dinners where students and postgraduates will be able to communicate with outstanding scientists. Each laureate of mentioned awards can nominate one student or one postgraduate who will be invited by the conference organizing committee to take part in the forum at cost and expense of the host side.

One of the editorial staff members of “Algebra and Discrete Mathematics” magazine of LNU Yukhym Isaakovych Zelmanov nominated for forum participation the postgraduate student of the Department of Algebra and System Analysis Olena Toichkina who has some important results in the field of algebra. Yukhym Isaakovych is a scientist of world-wide reputation, Fields Medal holder, the academician of National Academy of Science of USA, Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, professor of California University in San Diego and Korea Institute for Advanced Study.

The administration of Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National University expresses gratitude to Yukhym Isaakovyck Zelmanov for the support and the possibility to present the university at the international forum in Germany and also wishes advance preparation, success and creative achievements to Olena Toichkina.


The forum of laureates of Abel Prize, Fields Medal, Turing Award and Rolf Nevanlinna Prize (Heidelberg Laureate Forum) has already been held for the third year in Heidelberg (Germany). Its provider is the owner of SAP – one of the biggest producer of software for computer systems, German billionaire Klaus Tschira.

For reference. The Abel Prize in mathematics is annually awarded to the outstanding modern mathematicians, has the reputation of “Nobel Prize in Math” and is one of the most prestige awards in the field of math. The Fields Medal is presented at the International Mathematical Congress to young mathematicians who are not older than 40 years in sign of recognition of their distinguished contributions in the field of mathematics. The Turing Award is an annual prize for the specialists in the field of informatics and computer science. It is stipulated that “The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field”. The Turing Award is generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and the “Nobel Prize of computing”. The Rolf Nevanlinna Prize is awarded at the International Congress of Mathematicians, for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences.

Head of Department of
Algebra and System Analysis
A.V. Zhuchok

© Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National University, 2007-2021